[PR] Gain and Get More Likes and Followers on Instagram.

#thesoundofgravel

271 posts

TOP POSTS

In the #greenroom with Anna LeBaron at KATU-TV channel 2 for an interview on AM Northwest. We're sharing our story about how we met and talking about our memoirs. THE SOUND OF GRAVEL's #paperback birthday is today! HOORAY! I am so, so EXCITED! #thesoundofgravel #thepolygamistsdaughter

#Repost @booknerdbubbles
・・・
Just posted a review of #TheSoundOfGravel by @ruthwariner. Stunning, stunning book. Please read more at http://booknerdbubbles.blogspot.com/2016/07/a-book-review-of-sound-of-gravel-memoir.html

Such a pleasure to meet Ruth Wariner, author of The Sound of Gravel. Ruth, your joy and strength despite so many difficult circumstances is an inspiration. Thank you for sharing your story and demonstrating resilience. Loved meeting you! 🌷🦋@ruthwariner #thesoundofgravel

I finished this book in two days. It made me cry. Ruthie was the 39th child of her fathers 42 children. It paints the life of a child growing up in extreme polygamous Mormonism. Living in a compound in Mexico with the other families devoted to this religion, she endures poverty, sexual abuse, the murder of her father by the 'Mormon Manson' and ultimately the heartbreaking moment that forced her to find something more for herself. Incredible. I couldn't stop reading but it is haunting and when I think about it, my heart breaks all over again for her.

very special night meeting author @ruthwariner who shared her incredible story so beautifully and answered our ten zillion questions all evening ❤ such a powerful book and so lucky to have gotten the chance to meet her! #thesoundofgravel

@ruthwariner Wowed a packed toom for her book launch tonight @powellsbooks 📖 Get the book... #thesoundofgravel #the4500launches

There is no better feeling for a book lover than falling into a book so engrossing that you don't want to put it down. Like an addict you plan and look forward to your next "fix" (or chapter). Fans of Mary Karr's "The Liar's Club" and Jeanette Walls' "The Glass Castle" will fall hard for "The Sound of Gravel", Ruth Wariner's memoir of growing up in a polygamist family on a farm in rural Mexico. I've got about 30 pages left and I'm dreading saying goodbye to her voice. #whatimreadingnow #whatimreading #thesoundofgravel #memoirs #bookstagram

MOST RECENT

If by some weird reason you decide to just read one more book this year, make it "The Sound of Gravel" by Ruth Wariner (@ruthwariner). I read it on a break from psychology non-fiction books, I didn't feel like reading fiction either, and landed on this very well written memoir narrative, at the same time extremely informative about a reality I knew nothing about.  Look it up.

__

#book #thesoundofgravel #ruthwariner #read #reading #kindle #amreading #memoir #nonfiction

Book haul from #chapter30books stop four at Bethany Beach Books. 📚
I had to pick up a copy of When Dimple Met Rishi for my own collection. I loved it! I also couldn’t pass up a sale copy of The Sound of Gravel because I’ve been wanting to read it for a while. A Jane Austen postcard didn’t hurt either. 📚
📚
📚
#bookstagram #bookworm #books #booksofinstagram #reading #readersofinstagram #goodreads #bookhaul #whendimplemetrishi #thesoundofgravel #bethanybeachbooks #chapter30books #destinationwellread

Book mail is the best mail! Thanks @see.chels.read for passing along these two books! Can’t wait to dig in.

What I'm Reading Wednesday. Poolside edition. Books are better in the sun! This was another guest on the @jenhatmaker podcast. What a brave lady @ruthwariner is. Love reading her memoir. #wirw #whatimreadingwednesday #memoir #goodbook #bookstagram #moxie #thesoundofgravel #ilovetoread #WVROurHome #WVR #wyndhamvacationrentals

Tears and astonishment at this resilient woman's display of courage; unbelievable pain that somehow journeyed its way to healing. Thank you for sharing your story with the world, @ruthwariner The grace, love and tenderness you had/have toward your Mom is powerful. #thesoundofgravel #memoir #courage #resilience #heartbreaking #powerful #tellyourstory #firstthepainthentherising

"People talked about happiness and love, but I witnessed precious little evidence of it" -Ruth Wariner
.
.
.
.
The thing I love about reading a memoir is that I believe the best way to feel connected to others is by listening to their stories. This story opened a corner of the world, although a dark corner, that I knew very little about. I'm amazed by the strength it must have taken to not only live through these circumstances, but to write about it as well. #thesoundofgravel #bookstagram #ilovebooks #librarybook #readeveryday

The Sound of Gravel by Ruth Wariner // This was my book club’s pick for September and boy, was it a winner! I couldn’t put this memoir down. It’s Ruth’s story of escaping the polygamist cult started by her father in rural Mexico. She is the 39th out of 42 children! After her father’s death, her mother becomes a sister wife for another man and has several more children with him. Ruth struggles to take care of the children, several of which are disabled, while her mother tries to provide food and shelter for her family. Violence and instability are part of their daily lives but Ruth dreams of a better life. // Ultimately, Ruth’s relationship with her mother is at the center of the book. Her mother is loving and fun, but her loyalty to their way of life over the mental and emotional health of her children puts a strain on their relationship. There were many shocking and horrifying parts to her story. The neglect of the children was particularly hard for me to read. This book was beautifully written though and I really admired the bravery and courage of Ruth. 5/5books 📘📘📘📘📘 #memoir #nonfiction #thesoundofgravel #ruthwariner #bookreview #alana_loves_books #alanalovestoread #booknerds #bookstagram

My trusty reading buddy ❤ The Sound of Gravel by Ruth Wariner has been an amazing read -- with only few chapters remaining I am pretty sure this will be a new addition to my list of 2017's five star books.
.
.
.
#instabook #bookstagram #bookish #bookphotography #bookphoto #bookstagramfeature #bookishfeatures #igreads #instareads #bookworm #booklover #booknerd #kirja #kirjallisuus #kirjat #lukeminen #thesoundofgravel #ruthwariner #flatironbooks #nonfiction #booklove #booktag #pumi #pumisofinstagram
#dogsofinstagram
#petsofinstagram #koiranelämää

I’ve always had trouble reading books because of my ADHD. I have great comprehension, but I’ve never been able to focus long enough to read books or articles in print. I’ve been off adderall for almost 4 months and this will be the 9th book I’ve read! I still have to revert to audiobooks occasionally when I can’t focus, but I’m so happy to be able to sit and read before bed after almost 2 years of ADHD therapy! #adhd #bookstagram #thesoundofgravel #summerofbooks #books

The Sound of Gravel, by @ruthwariner | ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This was a book club read, which means that it's usually something I wouldn't pick up on my own. Too often I find memoirs cloying and overly emotional, especially ones about traumatic childhoods (I know, it sounds terrible...). But this book, guys, THIS BOOK.

Basic summary: A polygamist cult. Mexico. The thirty-ninth daughter of her father's forty-two children. Abuse and redemption and an intimate coming of age story. And so much more: siblings and friendships and poverty and faith....

The longer I think about this book, the more it's affected me. It reads like a novel, although it's a memoir. Wariner handles her memories and those of her siblings with compassion and wisdom and, I think, a certain amount of tenderness for her childhood self - and I'm thankful she had that as she spent time revisiting and writing about her childhood.

Book 43/52 The Sound of Gravel by @ruthwariner // After listening to the author on a podcast with @jenhatmaker I ordered this book. Ruth was the 39th of her father's 42 children & grew up in a polygamist family in rural Mexico. This story was fascinating, yet heartbreaking and one of the best memoirs I've ever read. I had to remind myself several times that this story is real and I so admired Ruth's strength & courage and overall belief that there was a better life out there. #52books #samarareads2017

| Staff Review | ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 5/5 STARS We just finished this captivating book by author Ruth Wariner. This memoir takes us back into Ruth's tumultuous childhood growing up, poverty- stricken, in a Mormon polygamist colony in Mexico, the 39th of her father's 42 children. The pages of this book are filled with insurmountable suffering and loss, but also so much strength and courage and will no doubt leave you in tears.
Ruth's beautifully written memoir is not something you'll soon forget. #susanandersenlibrary #staffreview #whatwerereading #we❤️books #ruthwariner #thesoundofgravel #memior #nonfiction #librarybook #librarianlife

It's not often I finish a book in one and a half days but this book was just that good! 📖If you are looking for a good book I highly recommend this one! Anyone else read it? #bookclub #bookworm #booknerd #instabook #reading

Think I'll begin this #memoir next. I've heard it's wonderfully written, but extremely sad, so may need to have Kleenex at the ready. 🙁

_______________________________
#thesoundofgravel #ruthwariner #books #reading #bookstagram #ilovereading
#readingisawesome #bookpics #lovetoread #sadbooks

Most Popular Instagram Hashtags