#TGIFilipino "Through the first three days of sailing from Wednesday to Friday, Evang had built up a good lead over his competitors. Three first place finishes in six races had him five points ahead of the pack.
Then on Saturday came a little slip. On the first and only race of the day (Race No.7), Evang turned the wrong way on a buoy. Now, this doesn’t mean he sailed a shorter course than his rivals as it was just the wrong way around the buoy, but rules are rules and it was an infraction that could invalidate his results for that race if any team protested. He ended up finishing first in that race, and in what was becoming a tight contest with Thailand for the top spot, he truly needed those points.
In fact, with only one day of racing left on Sunday, a gold medal would have been almost a sure thing if the results from Race No.7 stood. But the other teams had an hour-long window after Saturday’s only race to protest the wrong turn and invalidate Evang’s points for a first-place finish. Except — no one did!
After a quick consultation with the team coaches, Evang went up to the Games officials to report his wrong turn in Race No.7, thus invalidating his much needed points for his first-place finish there. Even if this meant that, all of a sudden, he had no lead and had no points cushion to ensure a gold medal win. Without those points it was all going to come down to Sunday’s race.
We wish we could report a Cinderella ending but on that Sunday, the man from Thailand was just the better sailor, edging out Evang for the top spot at the podium. But we know the small act of integrity that swayed the results — but showed his true character, and we thought you should know too.
Yes, he came home with “only” the silver on his chest. But we know that inside — he’s got a gold medal heart." @interaksyon