The Footlight Players Theatre on Philadelphia Alley. In 1934, The Footlight Players purchased an old cotton warehouse (circa 1850) with the idea of eventually converting it into a finished playhouse. Yet until 1938, all productions were presented in a variety of spaces around the Holy City, including the Academy of Music (corner of King and Market streets), the Victory Theatre (85 Society St.), Hampton Park, The Citadel, and the Dock Street Theatre. During this time, the cotton warehouse was used for storage and scenery construction. In 1941, a shortage of performance space caused the Players to again turn to the warehouse.
Philadelphia Alley is a secluded, one-block stretch nestled between Church Street and State Street. Originally named “Cow Alley” (probably because it was occupied mainly by livestock), Francis Kinloch widened it a bit in 1766, and renamed it “Kinloch Court,” as it ran through his property, adjoining Cumberland and Queen Streets. Then in 1811, Charleston native and U.S. Supreme Court Justice, William Johnson renamed it “Philadelphia Alley” in honor of the aid received by the city of Philadelphia in the wake of a fire in 1810.
Locals, though, refer to it as Dueler’s Alley #philadelphia #alley #theatre #footlight #actors #history #haunted #charleston #coastal #historic #alleyways #chs #locals #duels #pirates #charlestonlife