Happy #ThrowbackThursday! Today’s #BMIThenandNow photos explore how the B&O Warehouse at Eutaw & Conway streets has changed in the past 90 years.
THEN: Eutaw and Conway Streets (1928)⠀
Designed by the B&O Railroad’s head architect E. Francis Baldwin, the five-story warehouse at the company’s Camden Station was constructed between 1899 and 1905. Stretching four full blocks along South Eutaw Street, the 51-foot-wide warehouse could hold up to a thousand carloads of freight and was frequently billed as the longest brick building on the East Coast.⠀
📷: BMI's #BGE Collection⠀
NOW: Eutaw and Conway Streets⠀
The warehouse’s massive capacity allowed it to remain in continuous operation for more than 60 years. By the end of the 1970s, however, the facility was largely abandoned as trucks and suburban industrial parks overtook centralized freight depots in popularity. Despite its obsolescence as a shipping facility, the warehouse found new life in 1992 as backdrop to the newly opened #OriolePark at Camden Yards. Since then, the warehouse has been home to team offices for the @Orioles and served as a target for ambitious sluggers, only one of whom, Ken Griffey, Jr., has ever managed to hit the right-field facade.⠀
📷: Kristina Butler